Shree Ganeshan Chundan The Winner of Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2013

Published on: 12 Aug, 2013
Published under: Alappuzha District News

11 August 2013

Shree Ganeshan Chundan, the snake boat of the St Francis Boat Club, Harippad won the 61st edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2013 on 9 August 2013 that was held in Punnamada Lake in Alleppey (Alappuzha), Southern Kerala. This is the second consecutive win of Shree Ganeshan that was captained by Arunkumar, Karthikapally. In 2012, it was captained by Jiji Jacob Pollayil under Freedom Boat Club, Kainakary. Jawahar Thayankeri and Anari Chundan were placed at the second and third positions, respectively.

After the win, Ganeshan was honoured with the silver trophy that was donated by Jawaharlal Nehru in 1952 with his signature embossed on it.

A total of 22 chundans (snake boats) and 41 other country boats participated in the race. The race was inaugurated by Governor of Kerala, Nikhil Kumar and Union Tourism Minister K. Chiranjeevi was the Chief Guest on the occasion.


Found Useful? Do Share: Shree Ganeshan Chundan The Winner of Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2013:

Leave a Reply

Share Kerala News Online

Kerala Direct News

Check out the latest 2015 news from Kerala State of India. Just Kerala is the dedicated online portal to provide latest and genuine Kerala information. Kerala Live and breaking news, Top Headlines, Top stories, Politics, Movies, Sports news.

Last Updated Kerala News : 16 July, 2024