Congress Wins Aruvikkara Assembly By Poll Election

Published on: 01 Jul, 2015
Published under: Politics News Kerala

Congress candidate K.A. Sabarinathan on Tuesday won the Aruvikkara assembly constituency by-election in Kerala, beating his nearest rival by around 10,000 votes.

Sabarinathan, 31, was leading right from the start in the counting of votes in the morning. According to the official website of the chief electoral officer, Sabarinathan secured 56,448 votes and the official declaration is expected shortly

The constituency essentially witnessed a triangular contest between the Congress, the CPI-M and the BJP.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist nominated 67 year old former speaker and minister M. Vijayakumar, who secured 46,320 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party put up its regular warhorse O. Rajagopal, 85, who garnered 34,145 votes.

There were 16 candidates in the fray and 184,210 voters – up from 164,884 in 2011 when Karthikeyan won by over 10,000 votes and the by poll which saw a 70 percent turnout.

While Sabarinathan and Rajagopal kept a tab on the counting process from their homes, Vijayakumar was spotted at the counting centre in the capital city.

Rrc – :

Found Useful? Do Share: Congress Wins Aruvikkara Assembly By Poll Election:

Leave a Reply

Share Kerala News Online

Kerala Direct News

Check out the latest 2015 news from Kerala State of India. Just Kerala is the dedicated online portal to provide latest and genuine Kerala information. Kerala Live and breaking news, Top Headlines, Top stories, Politics, Movies, Sports news.

Last Updated Kerala News : 22 June, 2024